A-va-o-na

The last time I fetch Ichiro in school the teacher told me how he remains to be the top in his class. She said he’s the only one who can already read well  and she can’t move the lessons ahead since his classmates are still catching up. She then informed me that she plans on  teaching him phrases next time. I was asked if I teach him at home. Well, I do bought him reading materials and sometimes teach him when he asks but mostly the initiative comes from him. I think it rooted mainly from him knowing the alphabet at 18 months. He loves identifying letters even at a young age and now he loves to make up spelling of words according to the sounds. Most of the time it’s ridiculous but we get surprised when he spell some words correctly. What I like about him is that he is very persistent in asking if he doesn’t know the answer but when he already knows he makes fun of it by using it as a substitute word in a song.

He is funny. Last sunday when we were in the church and waiting for the priest’s final prayer, my Ichiro said: “Today is Oct. 12, 2008. Today is Sunday. Mama what is the spelling of Sunday?” I said: “s-u-n-d-a-y, sunday!” Then he goes singing: “Sunday…I’m gonna be your lover, Sunday, oh,you’re gonna be oh mine, Sunday….” And yes, it is a Jason Castro original composition. I tried not to laugh at that moment since we were inside the church and he was simply making funny faces at me while singing that. I don’t know but he loves substituting new words to songs he knew just to amuse me.

When he came from school today he said that they are already reading the “ar” family. I didn’t understand at first but when he started enumerating the words like far, bar, car, i got it! Whenever and wherever he see familiar words he tries to read it. One time he said: “Mama, look! I’m gonna show you what i’ve read: A-va-o-na. I can read already mama. :). Guess what? He was reading A-V-O-N. Yes, that’s AVON! 🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: Ichiro

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a comment